Recreation areas

Queensland has seven recreation areas established under the Recreation Areas Management Act 2006. In recreation areas, nature-based recreation is encouraged but carefully planned and managed to protect these places for conservation.

K’gari (Fraser Island), Green Island, Mulgumpin (Moreton Island), Bribie Island, Inskip Peninsula, Cooloola and Minjerribah (North Stradbroke Island) are recreation areas. Most of Mulgumpin (Moreton Island), Bribie Island, K’gari (formerly Fraser Island) and the eastern half of Green Island, as well as Cooloola, are national parks.

Recreation areas are generally managed by the Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service. Cooloola is managed in conjunction with Gympie and Sunshine Coast regional councils, the Minjerribah Recreation Area is managed by Minjerribah Camping, and the Mulgumpin (Moreton Island) Recreation Area is managed by Mulgumpin Camping. Both Minjerribah and Mulgumpin are a Quandamooka-operated initiative.

Recreation areas are partly managed on a user-pays basis. Camping fees and vehicle permit fees are used to help manage the recreation areas.