Skip links and keyboard navigation

Main Range National Park and Spicers Gap Road Regional Park Management Statement 2013

Main Range National Park is a protected area of outstanding natural and scenic values that is appreciated for its rugged landscapes and high diversity of ecosystems, native species and recreation opportunities.

Conservation purpose

Main Range National Park conserves large areas of open forest and rainforest communities and small areas of montane heath. It is one of the largest national parks in South East Queensland and provides secure habitat for large numbers of common species and species of conservation significance.

The first substantial area of what is now Main Range National Park was gazetted in 1909 as Cunninghams Gap National Park covering 1,240ha. A further 1,648ha was added in 1930. The Queen Mary Falls and Mount Mistake sections of the park were gazetted in 1943 and 1967 respectively. A small area near Queen Mary Falls was gazetted as national park in 1908. More recently 11,330ha of former forest reserve was added to the park in 2006 through the South East Queensland Forest Agreement (SEQFA) process. An area of 443ha of land near Killarney was added in 2011. Spicers Gap Road Regional Park was gazetted in 1998. Neilsons Creek Reserve for Environmental Purposes was gazetted in 1999 and is planned to be incorporated into the national park.

Rainforest sections of the park and open forests along the central spine of the range are included in the Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage Area (Gondwana Rainforests of Australia). The World Heritage area makes up 77 per cent of the park. Main Range is the northern-most section of the Gondwana Rainforests of Australia.

The southern boundary of Main Range National Park adjoins the Koreelah and Mount Clunie national parks in New South Wales which are also part of the Gondwana Rainforests of Australia. These areas provide a narrow linkage between Main Range and Mount Barney national parks and enhance their conservation effectiveness through their combined area and by providing a corridor for the movement of wildlife.

The Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage Area (formerly known as the Central Eastern Rainforest Reserves of Australia) include the most extensive areas of subtropical rainforest in the world, large areas of warm temperate rainforest and nearly all of the cool temperate rainforest. Few places on Earth contain so many plants and animals that remain relatively unchanged from their ancestors in the fossil record (Commonwealth of Australia 2011).

The Main Range section of the Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage Area was inscribed on the World Heritage List in 1994. It meets three of the four criteria for World Heritage listing:

  1. an outstanding example representing the major stages of the Earth's evolutionary history
  2. an outstanding example representing significant ongoing geological processes, biological evolution and man's interaction with his natural environment; and
  3. an area containing the most important and significant habitats where threatened species of plants and animals of outstanding universal value from the point of view of science and conservation still survive.

The Strategic Overview for Management of the Gondwana Rainforests of Australia World Heritage Area applies to management of the national park.

Related information


Location map

Last updated
11 November 2013