Skip links and keyboard navigation

Glass House Mountains National Park Management Statement 2013

Glass House Mountains National Park protects the nationally iconic volcanic plugs of the Glass House Mountains, rainforest remnants on the Blackall Range, eucalypt forest on the slopes and ridges and heath communities on the coastal plain. The area has extremely high cultural values and will be managed in cooperation with Traditional Owners.

Conservation purpose

Glass House Mountains National Park was originally gazetted in 1954 as four separate national parks surrounding the four major peaks—Mount Ngungun, Mount Beerwah, Mount Tibrogargan and Mount Coonowrin. An addition of 48.7ha was made to Mount Beerwah National Park in 1979. In 1994 the four national parks were amalgamated to become Glass House Mountains National Park with an area of 692ha. In that same year the Nature Conservation Amendment Regulation saw the inclusion of three environmental parks into the national park—Mount Saddleback, Mount Miketebumulgrai and Blue Gum Creek. Coochin Hills was added in 1995 and additions to the Coonowrin section in 1999 increased the size of the park to 920ha.

The South East Queensland Forest Agreement transfer process in 2003 saw State forests in Beerwah and Beerburrum transferred to forest reserve tenure and then to national park tenure in 2010.

The purpose of all the additions over the years has been to protect the significant natural and cultural values of the Glass House Mountains and their surroundings.


Location map

Last updated
11 November 2013